2015 AGM, Dongguan, China.


The Annual General Meeting (AGM) is the highest authority of the
BWF. The Council oversees the day to day business of the BWF between AGMs.


The annual business meeting of the membership is usually held in May each year. The main business of the AGM is to 1) receive reports from the Council, 2) approve the audited accounts, 3) receive the strategic plan of the Federation, 4) approve proposals for amendments to the Constitution and Laws of Badminton and  5) elect the Council.


The Council is the elected governing board of the BWF and serves a term of four years. The Council conducts and oversees the day to day affairs of the BWF between AGMs.


A summary of the decisions  made by the AGM and Council are available  in the download section above.


The Council consists of:

– President
– Deputy President
– Vice President Africa
– Vice President Asia
– Vice President Europe
– Vice President Oceania
– Vice President Pan America
– Vice President Para-Badminton
– 18 other Council members
– Chair of the Athletes’ Commission.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is made up of the eight officers and the Chairs of each of the Committees formed by Council. The main responsibility of the Executive Board is to make decisions between Council meetings.


There are eight committees which cover all key functional areas of the BWF. Committees consist of Council members. Within their scope of work, committees formulate plans, policies and proposals for Council approval.

Administration Committee
Finance Committee
Marketing Committee
Communications and Media Committee

Events Committee
Para-Badminton Committee
Development and Sport for All Committee
IOC & International Relations Committee


Commissions are specialist groups with particular expertise and are made up of both Council members and external expertise. Except for the Athletes’ Commission, the terms of reference and the membership of the Commission is approved by Council. The Commissions are;

Athletes’ Commission
Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission
Awards Commission
Medical Commission

Para-Badminton Commission
Sports Science Commission
Technical Official Commission
Women in Badminton Commission
World Senior Championships Commission