Sudirman Cup

World Mixed Team Championships

Winning Team China

Sudirman Cup - Dongguan 2015

Sudirman Cup 2011

Ceremony Begins

Sudirman Cup 2015

Dongguan 2015

Sudirman Cup 2015

Singapore Team

Sudirman Cup

The Sudirman Cup is the World Mixed Team Championships, held every two years, and one of the most prestigious titles in the sport. The event was first held in the Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta, Indonesia 24-29 May 1989 with 28 nations taking part and it now attracts more than 30 national teams with 59 teams entering in the 1997 Sudirman Cup in Glasgow Scotland.

The Cup is named after Dick Sudirman, a former Indonesian badminton player and the founder of the Badminton Association of Indonesia (PBSI).

Until 2003 the Sudirman Cup took place alongside the World Badminton Championships (Individuals) before becoming a stand alone Championships for the first time in Eindhoven, Netherlands in 2003.

Since 1989, only three countries – Indonesia, Korea and China, have won the Sudirman Cup. The Chinese Team win in 2015 was their 10th win of the Sudirman Cup.

Sudirman Cup 2017 Logo

Sudirman Cup 2017

The TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup 2017 will be held on the Gold Coast, Australia – 21-28 May 2017.


Recent Results


– Host City: Dongguan, China

– Dates: 10 – 17 May, 2015

– Host Venue: Dongfeng Nissan Center

– Results


– Host City: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

– Dates: 19 – 26 May, 2013

– Host Venue: Bukit Jalil Stadium

– Results


– Host City: Qingdao, China

– Dates: 22 – 29 May, 2011

– Host Venue: Qingdao Sports Centre

– Results