Thomas Cup Champions

Japan Men's Team 2014

Uber Cup Winners 2014


Thomas Cup

World Men's Team Championships

Uber Cup 2014

China Wins for a Record 13th Time

Thomas & Uber Cups

The Thomas Cup or World Men’s Team Championships was first staged in 1948-49, and the Uber Cup or Women’s  World Team Championships was added for the first time in 1956-7.

When it was first started, the Thomas Cup took place every three years and this was the sports first major international tournament. The idea for the competition and the donation of the trophy was made by the first President of the world governing body, Sir George Thomas, legendary player (21 All England Championship titles) and administrator of the sport.

Thomas & Uber Cup Finals 2016

Li Ning BWF Thomas & Uber Cup Finals 2014

The most recent competition, the Li-Ning BWF Thomas & Uber Cup Finals 2014 was a landmark event in the history of the sport marking up a number of firsts. It was the first time that 16 teams in each event had played in the finals, the first time the teams qualified solely through world ranking points, the first time the event had been held in India and the first Thomas Cup victory for Japan. The Chinese women’s team defeated Japan to take home the Uber Cup for 2014.

Thomas & Uber Cup Finals 2016

The next Thomas & Uber Cup Finals will be held 15 – 22 May 2016 in Kunshan, China.


Recent Results


– Host City:  Kunshan, China

– Dates: 15 – 22 May, 2016

– Host Venue: Kunshan Sports Centre Stadium

– Results


– Host City:  New Delhi, India

– Dates: 18 – 25 May, 2014

– Host Venue: Siri Fort Sports Complex

– Results


– Host City: Wuhan, China

– Dates: 20 – 27 May, 2012

– Host Venue: Wuhan Sports Centre

– Results


– Host City: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

– Dates: May 9 – 16, 2010

– Host Venue: Stadium Putra