BWF Para-Badminton World Championships 2015

Daisuke Fujihara (JPN - SL 3)

BWF Para-Badminton World Championships 2015

Kim Jung Jun (KOR) - WH 2 - Gold & Silver Medallist

One sport - One Team

Badminton is a Sport for All


The tournament structure for para-badminton at an international level is as follows:

  • Para-Badminton World Championships
  • Continental Championships
  • International Tournaments


Applications to Host – Sanctioning

The sanction forms for 2017 and 2018 can be downloaded from the icon above. Applications for 2017 close on 31 August 2016.


Tournament Descriptions

Para-Badminton World Championships are hosted every two years (on odd numbered years – 2015 / 2017 / 2019). The Para-Badminton World Championships is an “open international tournament”.


Continental Championships are sanctioned by the BWF and these Continental Championships are hosted every two years (on even numbered years – 2014 / 2016 / 2018 etc.). The Championships are “closed international tournaments”. Each Continental Championships is restricted to the nations / BWF Members for that particular Continental Confederation.


International Tournaments

These are open tournaments and are designated “classifier training tournaments”. These generally are larger tournaments where classifier training also takes place


Classification at Tournaments

Not all BWF sanctioned para-badminton tournaments will have International Classifiers to classify new players. Players entering tournaments should read the invitations carefully before entering the tournament. More information on classification is available on the BWF website.