Athletes' Commission

Representing Athletes Globally

Athletes’ Commission

The BWF Athletes’ Commission was established in 2008 and is made up of six members who are elected for a four year term. Half of these are elected in the year before the Olympic Games and the other half in the year after the Olympic Games.


Athletes Commission Elections 2017

In May 2017, there will be elections for three positions of the Athletes’ Commission. The elections will take place by email from 26 April 2017. Players competing at the TOTAL BWF Sudirman Cup can also vote at the competition venue on 24 May 2017. Please see the downloads above for a letter from the Chair of the Commission about the elections. You can also download the nomination form. Nominations close on 27 March 2017.


Aim of the Commission

The Athletes’ Commission aims is to represent the needs and views of athletes to the BWF Council and Committees. The Chair of the Athletes’ Commission is a voting member of the Council and has the responsibility to advise Committees and Council on matters relevant to athletes.

The objectives of the BWF Athletes’ Commission are:

  • To act as the official link between the players and the BWF;
  • To proactively consider issues relating to players and give advice to the BWF on player related matters;
  • To represent the rights and interests of the players to the BWF Council to ensure the athlete opinion is heard at the highest level of governance of Badminton;
  • To maintain contact and good relations with the IOC Athletes’ Commission.


The terms of reference detail the scope of  work for the Athletes’ Commission.


Membership of the Commission 

Yuhan Tan (2)

Yuhan Tan (BEL) – Chair – BWF Council Member

Yuhan was elected to the Commission for a 4-year term in 2013 and was selected by Athletes’ Commission in 2015 as the new Chair of the Commission. Yuhan has been a member of the Belgian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission since January 2013 and is a medical student of the University of Maastricht in the Netherlands.

Yuhan qualified and competed in the London 2012 Olympic Games together with his sister Lianne and aims to compete in Rio 2016. Yuhan’s highest ranking of 46 in the men’s singles was achieved in March 2012.

Koen Ridder -Sized

Koen Ridder (NED) – Vice Chair

A former Dutch international badminton player, Koen was elected to serve the Athletes’ Commission for a 4-year term in May 2015 and was chosen by the other members of the Commission to be the Vice Chair.

A doubles’ player, Koen won his first international title at the Portugal International 2007 and this was followed by the Belgian International title in 2009.

He achieved his personal best world ranking of 22 in 2013.  Koen retired in 2014 after representing The Netherlands for more than 10 years at an international level.

Greysia_Polii - sized

Greysia Polii (INA) – Commission Member

Greysia was elected to the Athletes’ Commission in 2013 and is one of Indonesia’s top doubles players with a current world ranking (December 2015) of three in women’s doubles.

A talented youth player and multi-medal winner at the 2004 BWF World Junior Championships, Greysia joined the Indonesian national team in 2003. Greysia and her partner, Jo Novita won the women’s doubles at the Indonesian National Championships.

The highlight of her career was winning the gold medal (WD) at the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon, Korea. Greysia is an Olympian and has a goal of competing at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Tang-Yuanting sized

Tang Yuanting (CHN) – Commission Member

Tang Yuanting was elected in May 2015. A talented doubles specialist currently ranked six in the world (December 2015), she joined the Chinese national team in February 2012.

Tang Yuanting rose up quickly in the ranks and in 2014 she was runner-up in the women’s doubles at the Indonesian Open and the Yonex All-England.  She went on to win the Gold medal in the Yonex-Sunrise India Open 2014, Swiss Open GPG 2015, and the Yonex All-England 2015. Since March she has won the Swiss Open, Star Australian Open Superseries, Bitburger Open, Thaihot China Open and Yonex Sunrise Indonesian Masters 2015. She is also the 2015 Asian Women’s Doubles Champion.

HK_Vittingus- Sized

Hans-Kristian Vittinghus (DEN) – Commission Member

Elected to the Athletes’ Commission in 2013, Hans-Kristian started playing badminton at the age of five and won four national junior titles. After becoming a senior player in 2005, he won his first international title in November 2006.

With a highest ranking of eight in men’s singles, he was a semi-finalist at the 2012 BWF World Superseries Finals, quarterfinalist at the World Championships 2011, three times European Men’s Team Champion, one time European Mixed Team Champion and eight times winner of the Badminton Europe Circuit.

IKEDA Shintaro - sized

Shintaro Ikeda (JPN) – Commission Member

Elected in May 2015, Shintaro Ikeda started playing badminton when he was eight years old, encouraged by his father who was an avid badminton player.

Shintaro is a two time Olympian, competing in the men’s doubles with Shuichi Sakamoto in 2008 and in the mixed Doubles with Reiko Shiota at the London 2012 Olympic Games. The most significant achievement in his career was winning the bronze medal in men’s doubles category at the 2007 BWF World Championships.

China Open 2016

Saina Nehwal (IND) – IOC Athletes’ Commission

In October 2016 Saina Nehwal was appointed to the IOC Athletes’ Commission – a great honour for Saina and badminton.

Saina is a talented ambassador for badminton and a great talent in the sport. Saina won the gold medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi and she also won the bronze medal in women’s singles at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Saina is undoubtedly a leading sports personality in India. In 2009, Saina was honoured with India’s highest award for sporting excellence – the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. In the same year she was also awarded the Arjuna Award. In 2010 she received the Padma Shri, the fourth highest civilian honour in India. And in 2016, the Government of India awarded Saina with the Padma Bhushan, the country’s 3rd highest civilian honour.

Sinah was named a BWF Integrity Ambassador in December 2016 and together with other ambassadors, promotes “clean and honest” badminton.